about me 2 edit.jpg

Hello, friend! My name is Rachel.

I'm a twenty-something old soul, putting down roots in the beautiful state of Idaho.

Here are a few things that you should know about me.

I love Jesus. My main goal and purpose in life is to glorify Him in all that I do.

I got married at the ripe old age of 19 and my husband is my most favorite person in the whole wide world. His name is Ryan. He is completely amazing and I wouldn't want to grow smile lines and silver hair with anyone else.

Both of us grew up in California farm country. I had a great childhood full of family togetherness, dirt roads, and church potlucks. Ryan and I met right after I graduated high school and not too long after, we got married and began our adventure together.

In August of 2014, before we had even been married a year, we packed up everything we owned and moved to Idaho to work in the agriculture industry there. It has been hard to leave everyone and everything familiar to start a new life, but God is gracious and has blessed us far more than we could have imagined.

I am a bit of an old fashioned, back-to-the-basics kind of gal. I prefer slow summer evenings on the back porch to a night out on the town. I'd rather grow my own food instead of buying it at the grocery store. I'm always up for an adventure, but I don't mind admitting that I'm a homebody too. I believe in hard work and getting a little dirt under your fingernails. I believe in real food, people, and household cleaners. I believe in simplifying, slowing down, and living an intentional, meaningful life. I believe in homemaking, natural remedies, and hospitality. I love to laugh, I love to write, and I love to create.

And do you know what else I love? I love that you are here. I want you to know that you are always welcome at The Little Homeplace, and that's a fact.

Why don't you kick up your feet and stay a while?